Licensure & Certification



4815 W. Markham, Slot 72, Little Rock, AR 72201
Phone: (501) 537-9151

Arkansas Licensing Requirements for Audiologists and Speech-Language Pathologists

The information below is collected from the Arkansas State Board of Examiners for Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology (ABESPA), which is responsible for regulating the professions of speech-language pathology and/or audiology. The information is reviewed on an annual basis. Please be advised that laws, regulations, and policies may change at any time, so always check with your state for the most up-to-date information.

Initial Licensure

Upon initial licensure, an applicant is granted a grace period to work while his/her initial application is being processed. Upon receipt of a completed application packet, a letter will be sent to the applicant granting the grace period.

            New Graduate SLP Checklist

            New Graduate Audiology Checklist


Audiology Requirements

  • Master’s or doctoral degree in communicative disorders
  • Passing score on the PRAXIS, ASHA certification, or ABA certification
  • If the applicant holds only a master’s degree, the applicant shall submit evidence of no less than 36 weeks of full-time professional experience or its part-time equivalent 

           Audiology Applicant Checklist


Audiology Assistant Requirements

     None required


Continuing Education

Licensees must complete 10 hours of continuing education per discipline per renewal cycle.


Continuing Professional Education (CPE)

CPEs shall consist of a series of planned learning experiences beyond the educational programs that have led to the degree that qualifies one for licensure. The licensee must participate in CPE activities of at least:

  • 10 clock hours for each license period (July 1 through June 30 of each year)
    • At least five (5) of these hours must be in Content Area I.
    • Dual licensees must complete fifteen (15) clock hours with a minimum of five (5) hours in each discipline from Content Area I.

Renewal of a license shall be contingent upon the licensee fulfilling the CPE requirements, submitting an annual CPE report, and maintaining evidence for possible audit.

Provisional and full licensees are not required to complete a report of continuing professional education and will not be audited during the initial licensing year, but will need to submit the report to document:

  • (10) hours for the next licensing period (7/1 to 6/30)
    • There is no exemption for the year in which the provisional license is converted to a full license unless it occurs in the initial licensing year.

Full instructions including definitions of content areas and audit information can be found in Section 9 of the rules and regulations. 

Speech-Language Pathology (SLP) Requirements

  • Master’s degree or doctoral degree in communicative disorders
  • Passing score on the PRAXIS exam or ASHA certification
  • Completion of no less than 36 weeks of full-time professional experience or its part-time equivalent

          Speech-Language Pathology Applicant Checklist


Speech-Language Pathology Provisional Licensure

  • Master’s degree in communicative disorders
  • Passing score on the PRAXIS exam
  • Appropriate clinical experience in speech-language pathology


Speech-Language Pathology Assistants (SLPAs)

  • A Bachelor’s degree in speech-language pathology or complete a speech-language pathology assistant training program culminating in an associate degree
  • At least 100 hours of fieldwork experience carrying out speech-language pathology assistant responsibilities 


Licensure Resources

Arkansas State Board of Examiners for Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology (ABESPA)


Arkansas Renewal Information

Renewal notices are sent annually in April. All licenses shall be renewed annually by July 15, to avoid delinquent renewal fees. Please remember all licenses expire on June 30th of each year.



Annually, the Board will select licensees for audit. Audits are randomly selected and licensees will be notified by mail. Licensees who are audited are required to submit verification of CPE’s submitted, including information regarding date, the content of course, and number of hours.


Board Oversight

Current Arkansas Board of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology



For further information on laws and regulations for speech-language pathologists and audiologist, please visit this website: ABESPA Rules and Regulations


If desired information is missing or information for this page needs to be updated, please email

asha logo

2200 Research Boulevard, Rockville, MD 20850-3289


Being “certified” means that a professional has completed the necessary rigorous requirements to hold a Certificate of Clinical Competence (CCC) in either Speech-Language Pathology or Audiology. Individuals with this designation are noted to have the skills and knowledge to provide high quality intervention and are also committed to ongoing professional education.

Certification Resources
American Speech-Language Hearing Association (ASHA) Certification

Specialty Certifications

Academic Language Therapy Association

Alexander Graham Bell Association for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing

American Board of Child Language and Language Disorders

American Board of Fluency and Fluency Disorders

American Board of Swallowing and Swallowing Disorder

PROMPT Institute, Certification

Picture Exchange Communication Certification

Talk Tools, Oral Placement Therapy Certification


11480 Commerce Park Drive, Suite 220, Reston, VA 20191


Audiologists have several certification options through the American Board of Audiology. Certification in any of these areas sets audiologists apart as having unique areas of expertise and as being committed to continued professional development.

Certification Resources

ABA Certification

Cochlear Implant Specialty Certification

Pediatric Audiology Specialty Certification

© 2023 Arksha. All Rights Reserved.
Ph. 501-244-0621 - PO Box 24103 Little Rock, AR 72221
Powered by WebJIVE