Betty Bass Graduate Student Scholarship

Apply Online2

Download Application
The deadline to apply each year is September 15.


Betty Bass 2Betty Wayne Bass was born January 27, 1950, in Nashville, Arkansas to the late H. Wayne Lindsey and Ernestine Morton Lindsey. She was raised in Hope and Texarkana, AR, and lived her last 46 years in Cammack Village in Little Rock. She graduated from Arkansas High School in Texarkana in 1968 and attended the University of Arkansas at Little Rock. She worked for Fireman's Fund Insurance Company from 1971 to 1995 and then Arkansas State Board of Speech Pathology and Audiology (ABESPA) from 1995 until retirement in 2015. Betty passed away on February 1, 2017, after a 5 year battle with breast cancer. She worked tirelessly for audiologists and speech-language pathologists in Arkansas. As a measure of gratitude, the ArkSHA Scholarship was renamed for Betty Bass in October of 2017. ArkSHA will be forever grateful for Betty’s service, leadership, and kind spirit that she shared with all of us for so many years.

Scholarship Information

The amount of the scholarship is $500.00 - $1000.00.

Betty Bass Scholarship Fund: 

  • Contributions to the fund can be made at any time to the ArkSHA Management Office, PO Box 24103, Little Rock, AR 72221or online HERE.
  • Solicitation of funds are made at ArkSHA’s Annual Convention and periodically throughout the year to the ArkSHA membership.

Scholarship Criteria

Individuals must be enrolled in a Communication Sciences and Disorders graduate program in the state of Arkansas. The applicant must be an Arkansas resident who, at present, plans to work in-state after graduation.

 A letter of application from the student should include:

  • A personal statement relating to the reasons the student is pursuing a degree in communication disorders.
  • Future goals focusing on what the student hopes to contribute to the profession.
  • Statement regarding how this award will help the student reach these goals.
  • The student’s involvement in professional organizations such as ArkSHA, NSSLHA, AAA, ArAA, etc.
  • Financial need for the scholarship.

In addition to the above information, three (minimum) letters of recommendation (professional and personal) must be submitted (5 maximum):

An undergraduate transcript must be submitted.

A current resume must be submitted.



Past Scholarship Recipients

2020 Janet Young-UAMS

2019 Shayne Brown-UAMS

2018 Maryanne Babb-UofA

2017 Hadley Dahlen-UCA

2016 Taylor Wentz-UCA

2015 Ashlen Thomason-AR Consortium for the PhD in Communication Sciences & Disorders

2014 Sarah Kennett-AR Consortium for the PhD in Communication Sciences & Disorders

2013 Rebecca Smith-UofA

2012 Alyssa Staton-AR Consortium for the PhD in Communication Sciences & Disorders

2011 Ashley Ingle-Harding & BJ Arnold-UCA

2010 Rachel Westlake-UofA & Morgan Poole-UCA




© 2023 Arksha. All Rights Reserved.
Ph. 501-244-0621 - PO Box 24103 Little Rock, AR 72221
Powered by WebJIVE